2015 AIM Awards nominees revealed!

Announced at an exclusive launch at House of Vans London, the Association of Independent Music is pleased to reveal the nominees for the 5th annual AIM Independent Music Awards. Revealed by BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam and Kerrang! Radio’s Alex Baker, the list highlights the diversity and creative talent of independent music in 2015.

The health of the current independent music scene is writ large with a total of 43 artists in the running for 9 artist awards. Leading the pack with three nominations each are Young Fathers, Courtney Barnett, FKA twigs and Alt-J. While Bjork, Jme, Wolf Alice and Ghostpoet all receive two nods. A unique creative space housing artist studios, a gallery, music space, skatepark and more, House of Vans London is known for its work supporting the music industry, and proved a perfect backdrop for this year’s nominees launch.

The coveted Independent Label Of The Year award will be contested by Epitaph Records, Erased Tapes Records, Heavenly Records, Planet Mu Records and Transgressive Records. Following in their footsteps, BASICK Records, High Focus Records and Rocket Girl will battle it out for the Best Small Label award along with Erased Tapes Records and Planet Mu Records, who find themselves nominated in both label categories this year.

Once again, the nominations honour the full spectrum of independent music in 2015, as nominees for Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album including Alabama Shakes, Holly Herndon, Nadine Shah, The 2 Bears and Young Fathers stand side-by-side with those nominated for the Independent Breakthrough of The Year, Courtney Barnett, FKA twigs, Run The Jewels, Songhoy Blues and Wolf Alice.

The full list of nominees is below, with the winners revealed at the ceremony hosted by XFM’s long term champion of new music John Kennedy and Radio 1’s Alice Levine at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on 8th September. Tickets are sold out, but a limited number of afterparty tickets are available now from: http://www.musicindie.com/AIMawardsafterparty2015

Independent labels have a well deserved reputation for caring about their artists and this year AIM are delighted to be partnering with Help Musicians UK as the first official awards charity. AIM and Help Musicians will be raising funds for the important work the charity does supporting musicians at every stage of their career – from emerging professionals needing help with their career, to established musicians who’ve hit a crisis, long-term illness or are reaching retirement. For more information visit.

For all things AIM Awards, click here.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services)

  • Basick Records
  • Erased Tapes Records
  • High Focus Records
  • Planet Mu Records
  • Rocket Girl

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM)

  • Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color
  • Holly Herndon – Platform
  • Nadine Shah – Fast Food
  • The 2 Bears – The Night is Young
  • Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music)

  • Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame
  • Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Inside the Pleasuredome
  • Bjork – Coloured Vinyl Catalogue Reissue
  • The Pretty Things – Bouquets From a Cloudy Sky
  • Imogen Heap – Sparks (Deluxe Boxset)
  • Oasis (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Reissue

Hardest Working Band or Artist

  • Courtney Barnett
  • Jme
  • Little Comets
  • Swans
  • Young Fathers

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY)

  • ArcTanGent
  • Barn On The Farm
  • Brainchild Festival
  • Pete The Monkey
  • Truck Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

  • Courtney Barnett
  • FKA twigs
  • Run The Jewels
  • Songhoy Blues
  • Wolf Alice

Indie Champion (in association with CI)

  • Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
  • Marc Riley, BBC 6Music
  • Peter Guy, Getintothis
  • Rupert Morrison, The Drift Record Shop
  • Tim Burgess, Songwriter & O Genesis Music Ltd

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo)

  • Alt-J – Hunger Of The Pine
  • Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me
  • Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me
  • Ibeyi – River
  • Son Lux – Change Is Everything

Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniel’s, voted for by visitors to Songkick)

  • All Time Low
  • Alt-J
  • Erasure
  • Thunder
  • To Kill a King
  • Twin Atlantic

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify)

  • Alt-J – Every Other Freckle
  • Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian at Best
  • FKA twigs – Two Weeks
  • Jamie XX – Loud Places
  • LA Priest – Oino
  • Major Lazer – Lean On
  • Mogwai – Teenage Exorcists
  • Neck Deep – Can’t Kick Up The Roots
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love
  • Wiley – On A Level

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act

  • FKA twigs
  • Ghetts
  • Jungle
  • Ward Thomas

Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans)

  • Bjork – Vulnicura
  • Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
  • Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
  • Ghostpoet – Shedding Skin
  • Jme – Integrity>
  • The Bug – Angels & Devils
  • The Charlatans – Modern Nature
  • The Xcerts – There Is Only You
  • Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool
  • Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital)

  • Epitaph Records
  • Erased Tapes Records
  • Heavenly Recordings
  • Planet Mu Records
  • Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard)

  • Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award (in association with Promostream)

  • Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)

  • TBA