AIM AGM 2016

AIM’s 16th AGM was held on Tuesday 20th September at Glazier’s Hall, London Bridge. The AGM continues to be an important forum for our members to catch up with what AIM has achieved in the previous 12 months and to network with the AIM Board, Label/Distributor/Affiliate members, Friends of AIM, AIM staff and industry guests.

A full programme of events across the day included a keynote interview with AIM founders Martin Mills (Beggars Group founder) and departing CEO Alison Wenham in conversation with Simon Raymonde of Bella Union, bass player of The Cocteau Twins and former AIM Board member. Charles Caldas the CEO of Merlin, the global digital rights agency for the world’s independent label sector, also made a presentation outlining the positive outcomes Merlin’s members are experiencing as the market transitions to one dominated by digital, and streaming in particular.

The AIM membership voted on a shortlist of ‘Your Big Idea’ submissions. This initiative saw the organisation inviting ideas that would become agenda setting policies or campaigns moving forward. Submitted in advance by AIM members these ‘Big Ideas’ were pared down to a shortlist of 10 by the AIM board with individual board members supporting and ‘sponsoring’ an individual idea. That board member then worked closely with the idea’s proposer to present the idea at the AGM in front of the membership and there is then a vote to decide which one is adopted and actioned.

The winning ‘Big Idea’ was submitted by Stephen Richards (Lucky Number Music) and sponsored by Shirin Foroutan (Mute Group) and Stephen Richards (Lucky Number Music). It was for ‘AIM to lobby and further investigate tax breaks for investment in UK A&R asset creation’.

As part of the formal business of the AGM four new AIM board members were appointed. The newly elected Board members are:

  • Achal Dhillon – Killing Moon
  • Frederick Jude – Snapper Music
  • James Endeacott – 1965 Records
  • Jane Third – Because Music

They replace the following retiring Board members:

  • Charlie Larby – CRC Music
  • Merida Sussex – Stolen Recordings
  • Michael McClatchey – Moshi Moshi Records
  • Tony Morley – The Leaf Label