AIM AGM 2015 – Board nominees & retirees announced, keynote interview revealed and tectonic plate panellist confirmed

London, August 31st 2015 – The Association of Independent Music (AIM), which represents over 800 independent music companies in the UK, has confirmed further activities taking place at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday 22nd September at Glaziers Hall, London.

Details of a keynote interview and a keynote panel have now been released along with the names of those members who have been nominated to stand as board directors this year.

Respected music journalist Dorian Lynskey, who writes regularly for The Guardian, The Observer, Q, Mojo and GQ among others will host a keynote interview with Matt Black & Jon More, the co-founders of iconic indie label group Ninja Tune. Labels under the Ninja Tune umbrella include Big Dada, Counter Records and Werkdiscs. Ninja Tune and its family of labels have worked with artists ranging from Amon Tobin, Thundercat, Kelis, Diplo, Kate Tempest Run the Jewels and Coldcut, the successful duo founded by Black and More themselves.

It has been previously announced that Black and More will receive the prestigious Innovator Award at this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards, which take place in London on September 8th.

In addition AIM has announced a keynote panel entitled “Tectonic Plates -Independent Music The Future.”

Following Apple’s decision to reverse their position on paying royalties in the three month free trial period, a decision wholly influenced by the pressure from independent artists, labels and sector representatives, the majors look increasingly self-serving and out of step with the rest of the industry. With increasing market share being taken by indies are we at a tipping point for the industry?

Confirmed panelists include:

  • Tim Ingham – Founder/Editor – Music Business Worldwide – moderator
  • Diane Wagg – Owner/Founder – Deluxxe Management
  • Paul Hitchman – President, International – Kobalt Label Services
  • Paul Pacifico – CEO – The FAC
  • Tor Hansen – Co-Owner – Redeye /Yep Rock Records

There are currently 18 AIM board members and in accordance with the rotation provisions set out in AIM’s Article of Association one-fifth (four directors) of the Members of the board shall be required to retire from office at this AGM. They are:

  • Chris Goss – Hospital Records
  • Doug D’Arcy – Faith & Hope Records
  • John Dyer – Domino Recording Co
  • Sharon Dean – Respect Music

AIM wishes to thank these retiring board members for their hard work and valuable input during their tenure.

The AIM members will elect four new board representatives from this year’s candidates at the AGM. These are:

  • Adam Velasco – Cherry Red Records
  • Andy McAllister – Four Three Six
  • Ben Rimmer – Believe Digital
  • Harry Martin – Domino Recording Co
  • Jonathan Green (MD) – earMUSIC
  • Vincent Clery-Melin – Kobalt Label Services