AIM Announces Raft Of New Initiatives And Confirms New Board Members At AGM

The Association of Independent Music (AIM), which represents over 800 independent music companies in the UK, held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at Glaziers Hall in London earlier today (Tuesday).

A full programme of events across the day included the Annual Report from AIM CEO Paul Pacifico, during which a host of initiatives were announced that will strengthen the sector and generate more opportunity for independent music companies.

New partnerships flagged with the Digital Catapult, PRS for Music and Pirate Studios demonstrate AIM’s commitment to staying at the heart of innovation across the UK.

A strategic partnership with artist organisation The Featured Artists Coalition (FAC) highlights indies’ continued focus on artists and their careers.

Tim Dellow of Transgressive, who was elected AIM Chair this year gave a keynote address in which he said, “a big part of what we’ll be seeking to do with AIM in the future is to have this real entrepreneurship in the sector recognised both within the industry, and outside of it, generating the same respect and opportunities for all of you hard working, intelligent, ground-breaking entrepreneurs that the UK tech and film industries have.”

As well as the formal proceedings Helen Smith of IMPALA gave a presentation on Brexit and Copyright Reform from a Brussels perspective. The final discussion between AIM CEO, Paul Pacifico, and special guests Joe Mount (Metronomy) and Shingai Shoniwa (Noisettes) covered the future of the Artist / Label relationship.

As part of the formal business of the AGM four new AIM board members were appointed. The newly elected Board members are:

Emily Moxon – Brownswood Recordings

Martin Mills – Beggars Group

Nadia Khan – DENCH Records

Nigel Adams – Full Time Hobby


They replace the following retiring Board members:

  • Hannah Overton – Secretly Group
  • Lesley Bleakley – Beggars Group
  • Peter Quicke – Ninja Tune
  • Peter Thompson – Play It Again Sam Recordings

Paul Pacifico, CEO of AIM said “I would like to congratulate our four new board members on their election and thank Hannah, Lesley, Peter Thompson and Peter Quicke who are stepping down and did a fantastic job for us during their time on the board.”