AIM confirms 4 new board members at AGM

The Association of Independent Music (AIM), which represents over 800 independent music companies in the UK, held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at Glaziers Hall in London earlier today (Tuesday).

A full programme of events across the day began with a panel entitled ‘Tectonic Plates – Independent Music The Future’, moderated by Music Business Worldwide founder Tim Ingham and featuring Diane Wagg (Deluxxe Management), Paul Hitchman (Kobalt Label Services), Paul Pacifico (FAC) and Tor Hansen (Redeye/Yep Rock Records).

In addition to a Q&A session with members of the AIM Board, the event also hosted a keynote interview featuring Matt Black, the co-founder of Coldcut and Ninja Tune, in conversation with Dorian Lynskey (music, film and political writer for the Guardian).

The newly elected Board members are:

  • Adam Velasco – Cherry Red Records
  • Ben Rimmer – Believe Digital
  • Harry Martin – Domino Recording Co
  • Vincent Clery-Melin – Kobalt Label Services

They replace the following retiring Board members:

  • Chris Goss – Hospital Records
  • Doug D’Arcy – Faith & Hope Records
  • John Dyer – Domino Recording Co
  • Sharon Dean – Respect Music

Taking the AIM Awards as a reference point, Alison Wenham, Chairman & CEO of AIM said, “Discovery is driving the independents’ market share ever higher, and the sheer joy, artistry and diversity on show at this year’s AIM Awards is rich testimony to the vibrancy of the sector”.