AIM Independent Music Awards returns for 2018

We are delighted to announce the return of the AIM Awards for 2018!  This year’s ceremony will take place on 4th September 2018 at The Brewery, London.

Entries are now open and tickets are on sale! You can submit online here and purchase tickets here.

Last year’s sell-out ceremony saw prizes go to The xx, Sampha, DJ Shadow, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Stormzy in addition to such luminaries as Steve Beckett, who was rewarded for his trailblazing work with Warp over the last three decades. Last year AIM Awards attendees were also treated to surprise live performances from Dave and Public Service Broadcasting. Check out the highlights video from last year’s ceremony here!

Paul Pacifico, CEO of AIM commented: “Each year the broad list of Awards nominees demonstrates the hard-won strength and inclusivity of the independent sector – we stand as an example to the wider music industry. On the night we honour the inspirational work of independent labels and the tireless dedication of the teams and individuals that run them.

“Independent music of all genres continues to move from strength to strength, proudly recognised at the AIM Awards.”

Now in its 8th year, the AIM Awards continue to go from strength to strength, and AIM is very excited to welcome back BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam as this year’s host.

MistaJam commented:I’m pleased to be a part of this celebration for the third year running. The AIM Awards are a really important set of accolades with the spotlight on the independent sector having never been so bright!”

Tickets are available now, and can be purchased here, starting at £115+VAT for AIM Members.

The ticket price includes entrance to the awards, welcome drinks reception, a delicious 3-course dinner with drinks and entrance to the lively after party. Please note that tickets are highly limited so we would recommend purchasing as soon as possible to avoid disappointment.

Entries are now open! Submit your entries through the AIM website here for the following categories:

Independent Track of the Year
Independent Video of the Year
Independent Album of the Year
Best Creative Packaging
Best Live Act
UK Independent Breakthrough of the Year
International Breakthrough of the Year
Best Small Label
Best Sophomore Release
Hardest Working Group or Artist
Indie Champion Award

This year the expert panel of judges will include Alison Howe (Jools Holland), Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1), DJ Target (BBC Radio 1Xtra), Alex Hoffman (Vice), Laura Snapes (The Guardian) and Steve Lamacq (BBC 6 Music). They join other representatives from Radio 1 and 1Xtra, 6Music, Radio X, Drowned in Sound, The Quietus, Mixmag, The Independent, Kerrang! and Global Radio. Check out the full expert panel of judges from across the media and music industry here.

Category sponsorship is still available for some AIM Awards categories. For more information or to receive a sponsorship deck, please contact our Events team – Alex Morley (alex@musicindie.com) and Oriane Rosner (oriane@musicindie.com / 020 8994 5599).

For more details on the ceremony and the ticket booking form, visit the AIM website here!