The Dillinger Escape Plan Awarded Outstanding Contribution to Music

We are pleased to announce that The Dillinger Escape Plan will receive the AIM 2017 Outstanding Contribution to Music Award.

The Dillinger Escape Plan has been a juggernaut since their inception in 1997, having put out five studio albums, four EPs that included a #1 on Billboard Heatseekers chart and a #4 on Billboard Indie charts, they have been winners of The Golden Gods’ Icon Award, Kerrang!’s Inspiration Award and Relentless Award as well as a VH1 Most Influential Guitarist award.  With their appeal to music lovers of many varieties and tastes, their unparalleled live performances, their awards and accolades and their ultra-loyal legion of fans, they have made an indelible mark on the world of rock music.

On winning the award founding member Ben Weinman said “While major labels have historically spent millions of dollars attempting to influence pop culture, it has been the independent labels of the world that have been responsible for cultural evolution

Indie labels like Rough Trade, Megaforce, and Sub Pop are responsible for launching the careers of some of the most important and influential artists of all time. AIM’s support of the UK’s independent music community is not only an important part of our current musical climate but of history in general. We couldn’t be more proud to be honoured by such an amazing organization.”

Merlin Alderslade, editor of Metal Hammer and AIM Awards Judge said “From their genre-shredding albums that have gone on to inspire legions of bands, to their now legendary live shows, The Dillinger Escape Plan have trail-blazed their way through an incredible career that has united alternative music fans from all walks of life. The AIM awards are about recognising music crafted in the true spirit of independence, and I couldn’t think of a more fitting band to walk on stage to accept this award than Dillinger. Horns up!”

Previous winners of the Outstanding Contribution to Music award have included Roisin Murphy (2016), Skepta (2015), Richie Hawtin (2014) and Billy Bragg (2013).