Final wave of AIM Connected speakers announced


We’re excited to announce the final wave of speakers joining our largest event to date, AIM Connected. The new, flagship conference will feature over 150 speakers, 36 panels and three days of interactive workshops and one-on-one networking, taking place from 1-3 April at Studio Spaces in London.

The newly announced speakers comprise an international group of experts from across the music industry and creative sectors including: Philip Selway (Radiohead), Jamz Supernova (BBC Radio 1Xtra), Moses Boyd, Sarah Jackson OBE, Toya Delazy and representatives from Noisey, Stonewall, Beggars Group, Africa Express, YouTube, Kobalt, Deezer and Rough Trade.

They join a word-class list of speakers including Amy Lamé (London Night Czar), Huw Stephens (BBC Radio), Mercedes Benson (Complex), Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai) and the founders of Hospital Records, Ninja Tune and Transgressive Records.

A variety of international industry figures will be taking part in speed meetings and one-on-one networking sessions at AIM Connected, creating invaluable opportunities for guests to make important connections and take home practical advice to help them achieve their business goals.

The first ever AIM Connected will also host a number of exciting workshops with leading music service companies including Spotify, BBC Licensing, Amazon Music, Deezer, Bandcamp, Soundcloud, I AM POP and Leaf Grow. These will give attendees a hands-on guide to best practices for the platform, a chance to meet the team, information on how to get in touch and answer any questions and concerns with an interactive Q&A session. Workshop spaces are highly limited and open to ticket-holders only. RSVPs will close this Friday.

Both one-day and three-day tickets for this event are now available from www.aimconnected.com. The event is open to both AIM members and non-members.

Subsidised member tickets start from £65+VAT and non-member tickets start from £120+VAT. Lunch, refreshments and networking drinks are included in the ticket price. Discounts are available for members of affiliate organisations.

AIM Connected will combine AIM’s Indie-Con, Music Connected and Women in Music events along the three tracks of business, tech and people, offering unrivalled insight into the future of music in the digital world and how to grow an independent music business.

Keynote speakers will include cultural critic, filmmaker and Executive Producer of the documentary ‘Surviving R Kelly’ dream hampton, as well as American Composer, Sound Artist and Music-AI Specialist, Holly Herndon. Holly’s new album PROTO, written in collaboration with her ‘AI baby’ will be released on May 10 via AIM Member 4AD.

The second day of the conference (Tuesday 2nd April) will see AIM Connected partner shesaid.so announce who is being included in their #AltList 2019. The #AltList aims to challenge the traditional definition of power and give it a new, alternative meaning which acts as a positive contribution to the diversity conversation. The announcement of the list will be followed by a celebratory awards cocktail at the end of the day.

MEMBER RATE: To unlock the Member rate, input your Membership No. as a promotional code when purchasing tickets. Members can access their Membership No. by logging into the AIM website and viewing it on their dashboard or contacting Membership Coordinator Sara Al Hamad (sara@musicindie.com or +44 (0)20 8994 5599).

The full list of newly announced speakers includes: Aaron Tanner (Instrumental), Achal Dhillon (Last Man Music), Achille Nanopoulos (Deezer), Amy Dickens (Samsung Internet), Andreas Ahlenius (AMUSE), Andrew Melchior (3rd Space Agency), Barry Gray (Consolidated Independent), Becky Richardson (Foundation FM), Ben Monaghan (Rough Trade), Billy Cole (Stonewall), Bob Stuart (MQA), Cassie Raine (Parents and Carers in Performing Arts), Chantal Epp(ClicknClear), Charlie Craggs (Activist), Chris Madden (Chris Madden Therapy), Claire Gevaux (Help Musicians UK), Daniel Casimir (Artist), Dave Grinnell (Believe), David Mogendorff (YouTube), Emily-Jayne Hinds (ACAS), Emma Dabiri (Academic), Emily Hodge (Coaching Emily & The Gentle Life Coach), Francis Gooding (Freelance Columnist & Researcher), Gérald Youna (Beggars Group), Gill Bell (Handle Recruitment), Gina Deacon (Absolute Rights Management), Greg Delaney (Entertainment Intelligence), Greg Lowe (United Talent Agency), Habib Achour (SACEM), Ivy Taylor (Amazon), Jamz Supernova (BBC 1Xtra), Josh Jankowski (Arch From), Kate Hendry (Absolute Label Services), Kate Reilly (PPL), Keith Jopling (MIDiA Research), Kiddy Smile (Artist), Lauren Roth de Wolf (Africa Express), Lucy Heyman (Royal College of Music), Malena Wolfer (Believe), Mandy Parnell (Mastering Engineer), Matt Bolton (IMPEL Collective Management), Mazen Murad (Katara Studios), Mel Lewis (BBC R1), Michael Cassidy (FUGA), Michael Dugher (UK Music), Moonchild Sanelly (Artist), Moses Boyd (Artist), Nadine Artois (Pxssy Palace), Nathan Liddle-Hulme (AWAL), Nina Parnaby (ie: music), Nkisi Mwana (Artist), Olga Fitzroy (Parent Pay Equality), Paul Sampson (Lickd), Paul Trueman (Kobalt/AWAL), Philip Selway (Artist – Radiohead), Rupert Vereker (DIY Magazine/Sonic Digital), Sarah El Miniawy (Simsara Music), Sarah Jackson OBE (Parents and Carers in Performing Arts), Rianna Jade Parker (Frieze Magazine), Sarah Wilson (The Orchard / Shesaidso), Silvia Gargiulo (BIY People & Talent), Suzi Green (Tour Manager/Nutritionist), Tamsin Embleton (Music Industry Therapist Collective), Theresa Adebiyi (Ninja Tune), Tomas Paliunas (Consolidated Independent), Toya Delazy (Artist), Tshepo Mokoena (Noisey/VICE).