Vote now for Indie Champion and Best Live Act in the AIM Awards!

Voting opens today for two categories in the AIM Independent Music Awards; the Indie Champion Award and Best Live Act.

Best Live Act voting:
Indie Champion voting:


Music fans can vote for the Best Live Act from a list of 36 entrants, all signed to independent labels. The Best Live Act category is supported by music magazine and website The Fly, and music fans can vote for their favourite until 29th August 2012 via their website here.

The bands and artists battling it out for Best Live Act include:

Alabama Shakes, All Time Low, Amon Tobin, Bon Iver, Ceremony, Dirty Three, Dub Pistols, Enter Shikari, Explosions in the Sky, Frank Turner, Funeral for a Friend, Gallows, Grimes, Hot Chip, Jack White, Josh T Pearson, LIARS, Los Campesinos!, Mark Lanegan Band, Metronomy, Sound of Guns, Squarepusher, St. Vincent, The Cribs, The Horrors, The Prodigy, The Tallest Man on Earth, The View, The Walkmen, Three Trapped Tigers, Tune-Yards, Twin Shadow, We Are the In Crowd, Wilco, Young Guns and Zun Zun Egul.

Last year’s Best Live Act winner was Frank Turner.


The Indie Champion Award recognises someone in another part of the music world who shows unwavering support for independent music and artists.  Nominees were submitted by AIM member labels, and include promoters, journalists, DJs, retailers and more. 

Labels, the wider industry and music fans are encouraged to vote for their Indie Champion via the AIM website here:

Indie Champion nominees this year include:

Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1), Ian Greaves (Napster), Ian Evans (IME Music), Colin Long and Tammy Willis (Ginglik), Jen Long (BBC Introducing), John Rostron (SWN Festival), Katie Parsons (Kerrang!), Steve Lamacq (BBC 6Music), Lisa Meyer (Capsule), Martin Roswell (Rough Trade shops), Olli Dutton (Obscene Strategies), Shell Zenner (Amazing Radio), Spencer Hickman (Rough Trade East), Tony Moore (The Bedford), Mark Ellen (Word Magazine).

AIM Awards organiser, Lara Baker commented:The Indie Champion category is a chance for the independent music community to thank those who go above and beyond to give a platform to independent artists.  These people help independent music to thrive, and AIM is hugely grateful toward and admiring of all those nominated.”

Last year’s Indie Champion recipient was John Robb, of Louder than War.

Both votes close on 29th August, with final nominees announced in late September.  Winners will be revealed at the AIM Awards ceremony in London on 29th October.

Tickets and sponsorship packages for the AIM Independent Music Awards are currently available – for more details contact

Average rating:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Give us your feedback

Logged in members may comment on this news article.