The Prodigy, Adele, Enter Shikari, Alt-J and 4ad all winners at independent music's most prestigious event!

The Association of Independent Music has celebrated the very best that independent music has to offer tonight at the second annual AIM Independent Music Awards. Hosted once again by renowned broadcasters and arbiters of taste, Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq, with live performances from Frankie and the Heartstrings, Big Deal and Land Observations, the Awards, held at the Brewery in Clerkenwell, has established itself as the event of the year for independent music talent.

The Prodigy proved their enduring popularity with the masses, receiving the Best Live Act award as voted for by visitors to New mum, Adele, was also among those honoured at the event, winning the PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act, capping what has been a momentous year for her. Rising stars Alt-J took home Independent Breakthrough of the Year recognising their huge success in the past 12 months, which has seen them become one of the UK’s most popular bands. Enter Shikari, who led the nominations, landed the coveted Independent Album of the Year accolade, beating off stiff competition from Alabama Shakes and Liars. First Aid Kit’s ‘The Lion’s Roar’ was awarded Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album.

It wasn’t just the artists having all the fun, with a wealth of the Independent sector’s behind the scenes movers and shakers also tasting glory. Black Butter Records, who scored a number 1 hit with Rudimental’s 'Feel The Love' earlier this year, claimed Best Small Label, Bella Union’s Simon Raymonde won Independent Entrepreneur of the Year and Ian Evans, IME Music, won the prestigious Indie Champion Award.  The Independent Label of the Year trophy went to 4AD in recognition of their consistently strong A&R, with releases this year from Grimes, Twin Shadow, Purity Ring and Mark Lanegan Band.

Edwyn Collins was in attendance to collect his Outstanding Contribution to Music award from his friends and collaborators Vic Godard and Frankie & the Heartstrings.  Mute founder Daniel Miller picked up the final award of the evening, collecting his Pioneer Award from last year's winner, Laurence Bell.

In total 15 Awards were presented on the night, with 11 categories voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the music industry, one decided by airplay stats, and a further 3 categories voted for by the public. A full list of winners is below.


Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to The Prodigy

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital): Alt - J

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: 65daysofstatic

Best Difficult Second Album: First Aid Kit - 'The Lion's Roar'

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird): Enter Shikari - 'A Flash Flood Of Colour'

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance): Black Butter Records

Genre Spotlight Award: Wiley - 'Evolve Or Be Extinct'

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard): Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act: Adele

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: The 13th Floor Elevators - 'Music Of The Spheres'

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC): 4ad

Indie Champion Award : Ian Evans - IME Music

Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to LeeFest

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic): Edwyn Collins

Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music): Daniel Miller, Mute

AIM would like to thank its sponsors and partners for their continued support: The Fly, This is Fake DIY, Sound Performance, PPL, Nokia, The Orchard, 7Digital, Music Week, Bird & Bird, Jack Daniel’s, Atticus Beer, Banquet Records, EDC and eMusic.

Pictures from the ceremony to follow soon!

Average rating:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Give us your feedback

Logged in members may comment on this news article.