AIM Independent Music Awards Nominees Announced!

The Association of Independent Music is pleased to announce the nominees for the third annual AIM Independent Music Awards.  Revealed by Xfm’s John Kennedy at London’s Gibson Guitar Studio, the list highlights the diversity and creative talent of independent music in 2013.

The health and diversity of the current independent music scene is writ large with a total of 36 artists in the running for 9 artist awards. Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and 4AD act Daughter lead nominations, with 3 nods each.

The coveted Independent Label Of The Year award will be contested by Bella Union, Cooking Vinyl, Matador, [PIAS] Recordings and Warp4AD - last year’s Independent Label Of The Year – lead nominations with 7 in total, for artists The National, Daughter, David Byrne & St Vincent and Grimes.   [PIAS Recordings] are hot on their heels with 5 nominations, including 2 for last year’s Independent Album of the Year winners Enter Shikari.

Twelve labels enjoy their first AIM Awards nominations this year, demonstrating the growing strength of the sector and wealth of new talent coming through. Celebrating their first nominations this year are: Navigator Records, Macklemore LLC, Test Card Recordings, Marathon Artists, Rocket Girl, Too Pure Singles Club, Bad Seed, Nest Collective, Southern Fried, New Voodoo, Gringo Records and Dirty Hit.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Live Act (in association with The Fly)
Bellowhead (Navigator)
Bonobo (Ninja Tune)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)
Johnny Marr (Johnny Marr)
The National (4AD)

Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7digital)
The 1975 (Dirty Hit)
Daughter (4AD)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)
Palma Violets (Rough Trade)
Passenger (Nettwerk)
Public Service Broadcasting (Test Card Recordings)

Hardest Working Band or Artist
Alt-J (Infectious)
The Computers (One Little Indian)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)
Frankie & the Heartstrings (Wichita)
Sam Lee (Nest Collective)

Best 'Difficult' Second Album (in association with Xfm)
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)
Major Lazer – Free The Universe (Because Music)
Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)
The xx  - Coexist (XL Recordings)

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services)
Alcopop! Records
Gringo Records
Rocket Girl
Too Pure Singles Club

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon)
Bonobo – The North Borders (Ninja Tune)
Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador)
The Horrors – Higher (XL Recordings)
Various Artists – Kenya Special (Soundway Records)
Various Artists – Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red)

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
(sponsored by UK Music, in association with AIF and This is Fake DIY)
Hebridean Celtic Festival
In The Woods
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival

Independent Video of the Year (Sponsored by Vevo)
Childhood - Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists)
David Byrne & St Vincent - Who (4AD)
Django Django - WOR (Because Music)
Grimes - Genesis (4AD)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - Thrift Shop (Macklemore LLC)
The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies (Distiller Records)

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by Consolidated Independent)
Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music
Joe Sparrow – A New Band A Day
John Kennedy - XFM
Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music
Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music

Independent Track of the Year (Sponsored by Spotify)
Daughter - Youth (4AD)
Jagwar Ma – The Throw (Marathon Artists)
Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Rough Trade)
Passenger – Let Her Go (Nettwerk)
TNGHT – Higher Ground (Warp Records)
Vampire Weekend – Diane Young (XL Recordings)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
The 2 Bears (Southern Fried)
Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade)
Alt-J (Infectious)
Django Django (Because Music)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

Independent Album of the Year (in association with Record Store Day)
Daughter - If You Leave (4AD)
David Byrne & St Vincent - Love This Giant (4AD)
Ghostpoet - Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)
Jagwar Ma - Howlin (Marathon Artists)
John Grant - Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)
Jon Hopkins - Immunity (Domino)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed)
Public Service Broadcasting - Inform - Educate - Entertain (Test Card Recordings)
Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires of the City (XL Recordings)
The xx - Coexist (XL Recordings)

Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)
Bella Union
Cooking Vinyl
[PIAS] Recordings
Warp Records

Pioneer Award (sponsored by The Orchard) - Geoff Travis (Rough Trade)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic) - Billy Bragg (Cooking Vinyl)

Winners will be revealed at the ceremony hosted by tireless champions of independent music Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq at London’s The Brewery on 3rd September.  Final ceremony tickets and a limited number of afterparty tickets are now available from

Average rating:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Give us your feedback

Logged in members may comment on this news article.